The Paradox of Vertical Flight

Book Cover
Average Rating
Language:
English
Also in This Series
More Details
ISBN:
9780062238542
9780062295378
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf601526d-1e17-9cb4-893c-bb34444578ce
Grouping Titleparadox of vertical flight
Grouping Authoremil ostrovski
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-27 03:07:15AM
Last Indexed2024-05-27 03:11:24AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Ostrovski, Emil
author_display
Ostrovski, Emil
display_description

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story, says: "Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride." An Indie Next Pick!

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky kidnaps his own baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Walmart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and with the baby's mother, Jess. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates the Greek myths—because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. By turns funny, heart wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fatherhood, and myth.

"Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher. But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens. A delightful success."—ALA Booklist

format_catalog
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
eBook
id
f601526d-1e17-9cb4-893c-bb34444578ce
isbn
9780062238542
9780062295378
last_indexed
2024-05-27T07:11:24.951Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
primary_isbn
9780062238542
publishDate
2013
publisher
Greenwillow Books
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
The Paradox of Vertical Flight
title_full
The Paradox of Vertical Flight
title_short
The Paradox of Vertical Flight
topic_facet
Humor (Fiction)
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:b4ead29a-b2ec-43f4-a851-745921248004-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:65087c89-2829-4c48-bcbd-775521295cab-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:b4ead29a-b2ec-43f4-a851-745921248004eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2013
overdrive:65087c89-2829-4c48-bcbd-775521295cabeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishGreenwillow Books2013

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b4ead29a-b2ec-43f4-a851-745921248004-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:65087c89-2829-4c48-bcbd-775521295cab-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse